Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
What do you do? 
Spends far too much time on here

So I thought it'd be a nice idea to share what we all do, what our areas of expertise are etc.

I noticed that some self-employed forum members are looking for more work while others are looking for new roles and so I thought this thread would be an opportunity for us to maybe help each other out if the situation arose.

I'll start: nothing. Well, not strictly true, I'm currently an Application Support Analyst (whatever that means) for an Insurance company. I wouldn't say I particularly have an area of expertise though my career history is mostly in IT Delivery/Service Management.

Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:32 am
Profile WWW
I haven't seen my friends in so long

I am currently teaching English, Maths and ICT at The Manchester College, mainly to Apprentices and Taxi drivers.

Before this I worked in IT, in a variety of roles, but have dealt with one too many @sshole IT managers, have now decided that I don't want to work in the IT sector any more.

I am also telling myself that I'm only doing this job until I release that one game which takes off and makes me a squillionaire! :lol:

John Vella BSc (Hons), PGCE - Still the official forum prankster and crude remarker :P
Sorry :roll:
I'll behave now.
Promise ;)

Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:20 am
Profile WWW
Doesn't have much of a life

Freelance Print Artworker.

Surprisingly there is still a need for my services, and the last few years have seen me work on everything from single sided A5 flyers to several 400+ page books, 1" button badges to a full wrap for a 5 carriage tram. Sometimes it's just a case of casting my eye over a file that has already been created to ensure that everything will print correctly and other times it can be creating something from scratch based on a sketch on a scrap of paper.