Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Buying from independents 
What's a life?

I'm looking into accessories for my G12 camera - mainly flash/remote release, maybe a filter adaptor and filters.

Struggling to find the parts online and there are some retailers who I've no experience with:

wilkinsoncameras
cameraworld
castlecameras
jacobsdigital
bristolcameras

Anyone had experience with any of this lot?
Where do you buy your bits from?

Amazon tend to be either resellers or overly priced compared to some of the independents. eBay doesn't have all of the things I'm after.

Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:47 pm

Amazon.

Almost all the accessory bits, like batteries, straps, remote cables and stuff, come from Amazon traders. Not had a problem, and generally the best prices around.

The others you named are all well-known and pretty reliable. I've certainly purchased items from some of them. The other one you didn't mention is Warehouse Express.

Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:31 pm
What's a life?

Actually, I looked briefly at warehouse express but didn't get a chance to see if they had everything I wanted.

Any particular Amazon sellers you'd recommend/have used without problems?

Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:30 pm

cloaked_wolf wrote:
Any particular Amazon sellers you'd recommend/have used without problems?

Can't name a particular one, because it depends on which is cheapest when I want to buy! I've purchased spare OEM batteries, official Canon accessories and various other bits without issues. In many ways, in my experience, the sellers try to give better service and usually ship stuff promptly.

Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:35 pm
I haven't seen my friends in so long

I've used Park, Cameraworld, Jacobs, SRS Microsystems and Warehouseexpress and had good experiences. I've also used Simply Electronics once successfully and once to near disaster so I'll be avoiding them in the future.

Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:20 pm
Profile WWW
What's a life?