Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Upgrades 
Spends far too much time on here

My current system at the moment is basically my computer, a Nad C320BEE and a pair of Quad 11Ls. At the time of purchase (about 6-7 years ago), the Quads were a cut above anything in their price bracket, but it did skew my budget rather so they've never had great source / amplification. Now that I've finished being a student I'm starting to put some money aside to rectify the imbalance. I have listened to various bits of kit since then, notably a really nice Naim / ProAc setup (8k ish), a Unison Research Unico 1 amp ( about £750) and a Chord Electronics / Kef reference system (£22k).

Now much as the Chord setup was really outstanding, I simply won't have the patience to save that long. Also, my room is really, really small and so any level of floorstanders us pretty much out. The Quads will match some pretty decent electronics, so I shall probably keep them for now.

Anyone gave any thoughts on makes / models to look at / audition?

Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:47 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin

What size is the room?
What are the speakers standing on?
How much do you want to spend? (read, how much can you afford to spend)

I've only ever done it with a chicken so far, but if required I wouldn't have any problems doing it with other animals at all.

Wed Mar 17, 2010 11:42 am
Profile WWW

The room is odd, doesn't actually have any parallel walls. There are two opposing walls of about 1.5m and 3.5m, and then the two other walls are roughly the same length at about 4m.

Currently the speakers are sat on my desk either side of monitors, but I have just got rid of the bed so have options for getting speaker stands and sticking them elsewhere.